skip navigation

Honors Awards & Fellowships

Dean’s Interdisciplinary – CAMBI Award – The Dean’s Interdisciplinary, also known as the CAMBI Award, is intended for domestic students who have an interest in both Biochemistry and Chemistry. Beginning in Fall 2011, students who receive this award will receive a top off to their teaching stipend in their first year. This award is non-renewable.
List of winners: Interdisciplinary Award

Dissertation Fellowship – Outstanding graduate students who have reached the stage of preparing their doctoral dissertations may apply on a competitive basis to receive a Dissertation Fellowship through the College of Arts and Sciences. There are a limited number of these fellowships which entail no teaching or other form of obligation. They are intended to assist advanced doctoral candidates in the preparation of their dissertations. These fellowships may be used to supplement other forms of financial support a student receives, or they may be awarded to students who are otherwise unfunded.
List of winners: Dissertation Fellowship

Gordon Harris Fellowship – The Gordon Harris Fellowship was established in 1994 to provide fellowships for top graduate students in the entering recruiting class.  Professor Harris was a member of the UB Department of Chemistry from 1953 to 1983 attaining the rank of Leading Professor, holding the Larkin Professorship in Chemistry, and serving as Chair (1956-1969).
List of winners: Gordon Harris Fellowship

John Rys Scholarship – The John Rys Scholarship is awarded to a student carrying out high quality research in computational or theoretical physical chemistry or materials science. Preference will be given to non-smokers. The scholarship was established by Prof Harry King in memorial to his former PhD student John Rys who helped develop the method of Rys Polynomials.

Kapoor Fellowship – The Kapoor Fellowship is given to advanced Medicinal Chemistry Ph.D. students of outstanding scholarship and character.  Dr. John Kapoor has established this generous fellowship to foster medicinal chemistry research.
List of winners: Kapoor Fellowship

Edward J. Kikta Jr. Fellowship – The Edward J. Kikta Jr. Fellowship is for one year and will provide one or more incoming graduate students in Chemistry add-on support to their assistantship. The recipients are selected by the members of the Graduate Admissions Committee.
List of winners: Kikta Fellowship

Mattern-Tyler Teaching Award – The Mattern-Tyler Teaching Award is given out yearly to students who are committed to teaching and who have developed an exceptional competence in teaching. A certificate and a check are awarded to each recipient. Winners are announced at the Safety Seminar during Orientation Week.
List of winners: Mattern-Tyler Teaching Award

Ph.D. Dissertation of the Year Award – In 2016, the Chemistry Department established the annual Best Ph.D. Dissertation of the Year Award to recognize the authors of the best Ph.D. dissertations in chemistry and medicinal chemistry from the previous calendar year. The finalists are invited to return to make a public presentation of their dissertations. The audience includes a panel of judges from outside of UB to evaluate the presentations in addition to evaluating the written material to rank the presentations. The winner receives a monetary award and plaque; other finalists receive a lesser monetary award and a certificate.
List of winners: Ph.D. Dissertation of the Year Award

Presidential Fellowship/Dean’s Scholar Program – The Presidential Fellowship/Dean’s Scholar Program in the College of Arts and Sciences is aimed at enhancing our competitiveness in recruiting outstanding graduate students. To be eligible, a nominee must be a new applicant to a PhD program in the College of Arts and Sciences with at least one of the following:

  • a cumulative undergraduate grade point average of 3.4 or higher
  • OR a two-component combined GRE test score (the sum of the scores of the verbal and quantitative components of the GRE General Test revised format subsequent to Oct. 1, 2002) of 1270 or higher AND a score on the new analytical writing component of 4.5 or higher
  • OR a score on the relevant GRE Subject Test in the 75th percentile or higher

List of winners: Presidential Fellowship/Dean’s Scholar Program

Silbert Fellowship – Established by Doris and Joseph Silbert in memorial to their brother Samuel Silbert to provide a fellowship award to a University at Buffalo graduate student with preference given to students from Western New York meeting the qualifications of outstanding scholarship and character and having financial need.
List of winners: Silbert Fellowship

Jere Solo Interdisciplinary Award in Chemistry – The Solo Fellowship was established in 2001 by Dr. and Mrs. John N. Kapoor in honor of Dr. Kapoor’s Ph.D. Mentor, Professor Jere Solo. The award consists of a generous fellowship for graduate students studying medicinal chemistry.
List of winners:
Jere Solo Fellowship

Speyer Fellowship – The Speyer Fellowship was made possible through the generosity of Dr. Thomas and Judith Mich and is intended for exceptional doctoral students who have successfully passed both their research synopsis and research proposal requirements in the Department of Chemistry, who show developing independence and have met the qualifications of outstanding scholar and character. The Speyer Fellowship gives a generous stipend along with travel reimbursement to present the students research work at a conference of their choosing.
List of awardees/winners: Speyer Fellowship

Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges – Each year, a select group of students is called forward to accept one of the most prestigious awards the academic community can bestow — selection to Who’s Who Among Students. This exclusive honor is conferred by more than 1,900 schools in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.
List of winners:
Who’s Who Award

Marjorie E. Winkler Annual Fellowship in Chemistry Award – Dr. Marjorie E. Winkler has established the Marjorie E. Winkler Annual Fellowship in Chemistry to be used for the purpose of fellowship support in the Department of Chemistry at UB.  This fellowship is for one year and will provide two to three incoming students in chemistry add-on support to full teaching assistantships. The recipients are selected by the members of the Graduate Admissions Committee.
List of winners: Winkler Fellowship